Getting Older

We all have those moments when we feel old. Perhaps it’s an aching knee before a storm, a headache with the weather change, a twinge in our back, a stiff neck when we wake. Sometimes we make a joke that the younger people around us don’t understand that makes us feel old, but for me, I knew I was getting older when I woke up one morning and couldn’t touch my toes without that pulling discomfort in the back of my thighs. My hamstrings have shrunken, retreated in age and disallowed me my full range of motion I once easily and happily possessed.

Time has been going by too quickly at times, but at other times, when I think about the unknown, time is moving too slow. It’s like being stuck right next to a black hole but then being thrown out of orbit now and then. Time is uneven, unsteady and unpredictable. Sometimes things take forever and a day while other things fly through time faster than I have time to recognize it. Sure, life is short, but it’s also the longest thing we’ll ever do. So where does that leave time?

Getting older may not always be fun, but I have to try, especially now, to accept that it will happen at some point or another. One day I will look in the mirror and see a few more wrinkles, a few more pounds and probably some seriously gray hair…but who the hell cares? I’m going to get older just like the rest of us. In fact, I am already older now than I was when I started this post. Time is relative. Time is unpredictable. Time is important, necessary and inescapable. Time, however, is all we’ve got.

Standard

Leave a Reply

